Live & Work in Halton Hills, ON

So what 'is' Halton Hills?

The Town of Halton Hills includes over a dozen historic towns and villages, each offering their own unique attractions, events and special historical qualities.

 

Acton

Acton, first called Danville, was settled in 1825 by the Adams brothers. The name was later changed to Adamsville and in 1844, Postmaster Robert Swan suggested the name Acton, after his hometown in England. From 1842 until its closure in 1986, the town was dominated by one major industry, the tannery. The town has adopted the name Leathertown to reflect its heritage.

Downtown Acton ...The phrase "It's worth the drive to Acton" made famous by the Olde Hide House, applies not only to the luxurious leather merchandise showcased in the store's historical surroundings, but also to the specialty shops, excellent restaurants and services provided by Acton's downtown businesses. Downtown Acton offers the small town benefits of interesting architecture, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, quality product and efficient service that never go out of style. Take advantage of small town living and become part of Downtown Acton - it's all here for you.

Points of interest:

Acton Town Hall Centre, 19 Willow St., N. This grand old building was built in 1882 for the municipal council and the town constabulary at a tendered cost of $4574. The main floor accommodated the village constable who had a lock up cell for unruly, which is still in place today. In 1974 the building was slated for demolition but a citizen's group formed to save the historic building and in 1983 Heritage Acton purchased the building from the Town for $1!. The Town Hall was designated a Heritage Building in August 1996.

MacKinnon Family Funeral Home, 55 Mill St., E.

Moorecroft, 98 Church St., E.  

Ballinafad

At the four corners, you can see the old general store, the old Ferguson Blacksmith shop on the south west corner and the ballinafad cemetery.

Points of interest:

The Ballinafad General Store. The original store was established on this site c. 1842 and sold groceries and supplies for village and farm folk. The two storey frame building was destroyed by fire in 1905 and the present stone building was built to replace it. The Post Office was in the back, the storekeeper and his family lived on the upper floor and the barn in the back stabled the horses for the stage run to Georgetown.

Scotsdale Farm

The Hamlet of Churchill

The church and cemetery remain to mark this settlement at the junction of the Erin/Halton Hills Town Line and Churchill Rd. N.

Georgetown

George Kennedy, who settled in this area in 1823, opened a mill which formed the beginning of a settlement known as Hungry Hollow. The Barber brothers bought a woolen mill and foundry from Kennedy in 1837 and renamed the settlement Georgetown.

Downtown Georgetown ... A Stroll Along Main Street is ...
Century Homes on a shady avenue. Browsing unique stores for one of a kind gifts and more. Enjoying coffee and homecooking at hospitable eateries. Revitalizing yourself through dance or fitness programs. Relaxation at the spa or through massage therapy. Inspiration at the theatre Gallery. Buying the freshest produce from your Farmer's Market and celebrating Festivals for the community. With Family, friends or on your own, rediscover where it all began.

Points of interest:

Cedarvale Park, corner of Main and Maple. From 1923 to 1928 Armenian orphans known as the "Georgetown Boys" lived and worked on this farm. The name Cedarvale was given to it in 1928 when it became "The Ontario Home for Girls" under the United church. It became a public park in 1967.

Baptist Church (home to Rampulla's Martial Arts), 14 Main St., S.  

Shepherd's Crook Pub, 86 Main. St., S.

Berwick Hall, 139 Main St., S.

Glen Williams

This pretty village was originally called Williamsburg but when the post office was established in 1852, the name was changed to Glen Williams as there was already a Williamsburg in Canada.

Points of interest:

Beaumont Mill, 586 Main St. This interesting rambling building was built in 1878 by Sam Beaumont, to replace the original Knitting Mill that was destroyed by fire. Wool, imported from New Zealand, was spun and carded here to be made into hosiery, underwear and blankets. The mill was sold in 1957 and has been used by various businesses over the last 40 years.

Village Store, 523 Main St.

St. John's United Church, Main St.

Union Presbyterian Church

The Williams Mill

Limehouse

Fountain Green was the original name of this picturesque little village. After the railroad was built in 1856, it became the site of a saw mill, blanket factory and paint factory. A trail leading to the old lime kilns starts from the parking lot behind the Community hall (formerly the Methodist and United Church).

Points of interest:

Limehouse Kilns

Hiking 

The Village of Norval

Nestled among the scenic hills and wooded glades of the Credit River valley, Norval's natural beauty inspired former resident Lucy Maud Montgomery, author of Anne of Green Gables, to write in her journal "Norval is one of the prettiest villages in all Ontario".

Points of interest:

Lucy Maud Montgomery Garden and Plaque, Mary St.  Many heritage plants that have been passed from garden to garden in the village, now grow proudly in this special garden, established in 1992 in memory of L.M. Montgomery.

Norval Presbyterian Church, 499 Guelph St. (Hwy 7).

Norval Anglican Church, Adamson St. (Winston Churchill Blvd. S.).

Lilac Lawns, 475 Guelph St. (Hwy 7).

Stewarttown

This village, settled around 1818, was the "capital" of the former Township of Esquesing. It was a very active industrial site in the 1850's and the home of the Esquesing Agricultural Society's Fair.

Terra Cotta

This little village on the Credit River was once called Salmonville, because of the good fishing. The Inn was established to serve visitors who came out to enjoy the natural beauty of the area. The present Terra Cotta Inn has recently been re-established after a disastrous fire partly destroyed the original structure. The village is now home to some interesting little shops and galleries.